Wheels of Kindness

August 21, 2006 at 11:33 am (Uncategorized)

My big brother and his family just gave us a car. This was not a car along the lines of a 1979 Mazda with one door hanging off its hinge, bald tires, and enough rust to look like art. No, this was a recent vintage Volkswagen Passat. Red and shiny with plenty of zip.

We needed a car because Jay’s Honda Civic was totaled in a bad wreck in January. We could have survived with one car, but with a Montana winter fast approaching, I was anticipating having to shuttle Jay back and forth from work.

All my brother said was, “I want you to look back on this year and think that at least one good thing happened.” We hope to repay him in some fashion for the car, but I don’t think I’ll ever be able to reciprocate what he did to my heart with that one line.

I felt like bawling for most of the week we spent with my brother after he told us his plans with the car. Sometimes the overwhelming kindness and generosity of my family takes my breath away, especially when I read on sarcoidosis sites about other people who have to fight against their loved ones as well as their disease.

Sometimes I forget that I am not walking this road alone. Sometimes I forget the hands pulling me along. Sometimes I forget how lucky I am to be surrounded with the people in my life.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go cry again…and then go for a drive.

Leave a Reply

