Comments, Please…And More

January 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm (Uncategorized)

Hey all you citizens of Chronic Town,

One of my resolutions for the New Year is to take my blog more seriously.  Actually, as you loyal readers know, I already take the writing part of my blog seriously–sometimes too seriously.  My perfectionism has been known to impede me from posting more regularly here.  I get caught up in the quality of my writing (an occupational hazard, I suppose), so that I hold back from posting anything that I don’t deem polished enough, or complete enough, or thoughtful enough…enough already!

I plan to loosen up the look and feel of Chronic Town in the coming months.  I plan to make http://www.rebecca-stanfel.com and this blog more alive.  Look for more pictures and links to like-minded bloggers and resources for those of living with chronic illnesses or loving someone in Chronic Town.

I also want to do a better job of opening this space up to you.  In my quest to make sure I don’t post writing with a misplaced comma, I’ve lapsed on responding to your stories, ideas, and comments.  No more! I formally invite you to write what it’s like for YOU in Chronic Town. If you take the time to comment on my blog, I will make sure I write you back.  Let’s get a dialogue going!

In keeping with this ideal, I am posting the two comments I received from Barb and Marianne on my last entry, “Faith,” along with my response to them.  How do hope and trust help you survive in Chronic Town?  Or has hope betrayed you one too many times, when it comes to living with a chronic illness?  How much should we dare trust another person, and can we hang onto our hope if our trust is broken?

As always, I am honored that you take the time to read what I write.

Rebecca

Here’s the conversation we’ve got going about “Faith

Barbara said,

What? Santa and the Tooth Fairy aren’t really real? Damnit, why did I hire that security firm for a yearly guard to keep that weirdo out of my chimney? Oh crap.

On the other hand, your post move me, and I so agree. It also brings to mind the old saying: “Trust God, Love People”. And then a whole NEW chunk of work presents itself. Love you!


Marianne said,

When I have a problem with trust, I turn to hope

I said,

Thanks for your comments, Marianne and Barb. I’ve been letting them percolate into my overly busy and rational brain. I’d love to know if I “got” what you two meant. Where does “Trust God, Love People” lead? Does that mean that all of us humans are way too, well, human, to be ultimately trustworthy? So that the best we can do is love one another– frailties,flaws, and lapses of good judgment? And then turn to God when we really, really need to rely on someone? Or, does this deceptively simple expression mean that we should trust that people are doing the best they can with God’s help? Hmmmm.

And your response was equally insightful, Marianne. Ever since I got moved into Chronic Town, I’ve thought a lot about hope–how we can’t let go of hope, yet how if we hope too much we ruin what we have by putting stock in what might be or should be. While we’re throwing quips around, here’s one of my favorites. Sartre said, “One need not hope in order to undertake one’s work.” I’ve fallen back on this one many times, when I need to get through a day and live fully in this day, but can’t get bogged down in hoping–hoping my writing finds a publisher or hoping my son appreciates the birthday cake I made or hoping my sarcoidosis will crawl back into the hell from which it emerged and leave me alone. Sometimes hoping gets in the way of my living mindfully in a moment. Strange, isn’t it? But sometimes, I have to “give things over to hope” in the same way some people “give something over to God.” And this is what I’m getting from your thought, Marianne…sometimes you’ve got to let hope take over when trust is broken.

Does anyone else have any thoughts on hope, trust, or anything else for that matter? Or did I misunderstand what you, Barbara and Marianne, meant? Write me here, or to my email (chronic.town@yahoo.com).

Leave a Reply

