The Boot Gets Magic

February 3, 2012 at 11:10 pm (Uncategorized)

Me and my busted ankle send greetings from Orlando, Florida.

My apologies for not updating you on my whereabouts sooner. But after another ligament spontaneously combusted, I was too overwhelmed to write and try to travel. So I just tried to travel.

Jay’s father and his partner, Don, surprised us a few months ago with a trip to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. Just the idea of this totally blew Andrew’s mind. He counted down—first the months, then the weeks, then the days, and then the hours—to go. Imagine my horror, when Andrew announced that we had a scant four days to departure, and I promptly destroyed my ankle.

I spent the first days after rupturing my ligament in a stew of pain, anxiety, guilt, disappointment, rage, and, yes, horror. I have had to miss more family trips than I’d like to remember during the past eight years in Chronic Town. I’ve missed weddings, funerals, vacations, and romantic get-aways because I’ve been hospitalized, or recovering from surgery, or too frail from chemotherapy. I have resented bitterly and deeply the lost opportunities of every missed trip.

“Do you want me to pull the plug?” Jay asked several times every day between Thursday–when I hurt my ankle– and Tuesday–when we were slated to leave.

No, no, no, and NO.

I couldn’t quite imagine how I was going to make the trip, but I knew I should try and that I should trust that I could. Somehow—with the aid of wheelchairs, crutches, pain medicine, determination, constant attention and planning on Jay’s (and then on his Dad and Don’s) part, the kindness of strangers , helpful flight attendants, and good luck—we made it from Montana to Florida.

I haven’t been exactly trotting around the giant Universal Studios complex that houses Harry Potter World. Just lowering my leg still hurts, so I’ve been spending a lot of time horizontally. Which is just fine. I have a view of a lagoon from my hotel bed, and there are plenty of deck chairs by the pool. Everyone takes turns wheeling me around in the wheelchair Don arranged for me. Andrew likes to recapitulate some of the amusement park rides for me whenever he gets to ferry me down the long hotel hallways. “It’s time for speed wheeling,” he announces, as he accelerates. I love it.

Today, I was even able to spend a few hours getting wheeled around Harry Potter World. I have never envisioned myself as a theme park kind of gal. Nevertheless, it was pretty cool. But all the details of Universal Studio’s rendering of Hogwarts couldn’t come close to witnessing how Andrew got excited to show me the amazing world he’d discovered with his grandfathers and his Dad. I loved being able to see it—firsthand, with him, instead of having to wait at home, alone, to hear about it after the fact.

I’m not thinking about the trip home yet. I still can’t quite imagine how I’m going to survive the multiple, cramped plane rides home. But I am going to trust once again in the magic that weaves through and sustains us in this life. In any event, it’s not for a few more days.

I have so much to write about when I get back. I’ll most likely be off-line until I’m home. I’ve been trying to blog more regularly, but I know you’ll understand why I need to keep my computer off and my mind in the present. There’s a lot for me to see.

6 Comments

  1. Rayna said,

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying your vacation! I think determination plays a bigger role in your life than you give credit. Love to everyone!
    -Rayna

  2. Barbara Forte Abate said,

    This is such a beautiful post! In fact it makes me want to cry. Oh, not the “boo hoo how pitiful sad, variety of tears,” but the WOW, what an amazing woman kind! It’s far too easy to fall into the rut of “life stinks, I’d going into a corner to eat my misery pie.” So to follow your chronicle of making such a trip, with your extra baggage of discomfort and pain … and to consider that STILL, you keep on looking for, and gathering, those shimmering bits of silver-lining along the way … (Throughout the experience of an Amusement Park, of all places! AND in a wheel chair.) I have a pretty good feeling that you are an inspiration to a lot of people and a I know that’s a club I want to join 🙂 Wishing you a prompt, perfect, and miraculous recovery!

  3. Carrie Daws (@CarrieDaws) said,

    I’m so glad you endured the pain and went! Priceless memories!!

  4. Barbara Barnes said,

    Rebecca I am so grateful you wrote a blog to catch us up on what you are experiencing. I laughed out loud at Andrew and you playing speed wheeling.

    And feel delight that you are getting to see Andrew’s face and getting to have him as your personal tour guide. What majic memories for him, and for you. (pun was an accident)

    I also find myself celebrating that Jay has his Dad and that he picked such a great partner. The profoundness of the gift you give people in being able to help in small and big ways is beyond words. I wonder if as you let yourself be helped, you feel the same miracle of love that your helpers feel? Oh, bother, that’s not quite it either.. anyway, I’m just plain happy for what you can have, and not “in spite of” your ankle and the sarc, but along with that injury and “condition” and even sometimes Because of them!

    Sending love and smiles..
    Barb

  5. Nan said,

    Way to go – this is no easy feat and you are staying in the present with every step, er…roll! I too am choked up seeing, and knowing the energy it is taking you to do this. There will be plenty of time for recuperating when you get home – remember…float. Pretty terrific girlie. Nan

  6. Paul said,

    Go Super Girl

Leave a Reply

